The John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design presents Architecture in Dialogue: 14th cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture // Live Stream November 19, 2020 @ 12:30PM EST //

Architecture In Dialogue

14th cycle of the aga khan award for architecture

steering committee:

His Highness the Aga Khan (Chairman)

Sir David Adjaye
In 2017, Sir David was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen for services to Architecture, following the previous award of an OBE in 2007. The same year, he was recognized as one of the 100 most influential people of the year by TIME magazine. He has additionally received the Design Miami/Artist of the Year title in 2011, the Wall Street Journal Innovator Award in 2013 and the 2016 Panerai London Design Medal from the London Design Festival. In 2000, he founded Adjaye Associates, which now has offices in London, New York and Accra working on projects in the USA, UK, Europe, Africa, Asia and the Middle East. His largest project to date, the Smithsonian Institute National Museum of African American History and Culture, opened on the National Mall in Washington DC in the autumn of 2016.

Mohammad al-Asad
Dr. al-Asad is a Jordanian architect and architectural historian. He is the founding director of the Center for the Study of the Built Environment in Amman. Dr. al-Asad studied architecture at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and history of architecture at Harvard University, before taking post-doctoral research positions at Harvard and at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. Dr. al-Asad has been a member of the board of directors of the Jordan National Gallery of Fine Arts, part of the Royal Society for Fine Arts. He served as a project reviewer for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture during the 1989, 1995, 1998, 2004 and 2007 Award cycles, and was a member of the Steering Committee in 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Brigitte Shim
Principal of Shim-Sutcliffe Architects and a professor at the University of Toronto’s John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design. At the University of Toronto, Professor Shim teaches core design studios, advanced design studios, and courses in the History and Theory of Landscape Architecture. Her visiting professorships include the Eero Saarinen Visiting Professor at Yale University (2014, 2010, 2005) and (with Sutcliffe) the University of Auckland Distinguished Visitor Award from the university’s National Institute for Creative Arts and Industries within the School of Architecture and Planning. Professor Shim served on the 2007 Master Jury for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, as a project reviewer in 2010, and was a member of the Award Steering Committee in 2016.

Emre Arolat
Design partner of EAA-Emre Arolat Architecture, founded with Gonca Paşolar in 2004, EAA is an internationally recognised practice with offices in New York, London and Istanbul, engaged in a wide range of projects, from urban master plans and airports, to residential and cultural buildings, and workplaces. Mr. Arolat teaches and lectures widely both within Turkey and internationally. In 2017, he was Norman R. Foster Visiting Professor at the Yale School of Architecture, where he taught Advanced Studio during the fall semester. Mr. Arolat was the co-curator, in collaboration with the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts (IKSV), of the first Istanbul Design Biennale in 2012. He was awarded a professorship by the International Academy of Architecture, Sofa, in 2015. Mr. Arolat served on the Aga Khan Award for Architecture Master Jury in 2016

Francesco Bandarin
Mr. Bandarin is an architect and urban planner. He graduated in architecture from the Institute of Architecture of Venice (IUAV) and has a master’s degree in City and Regional Planning from the University of California, Berkeley. From 1980 to 2016 he was Professor of Urban Planning and Conservation at IUAV. Mr. Bandarin served as Director of the UNESCO World Heritage Centre and Secretary of the World Heritage Convention from 2000 to 2011, and as Assistant Director-General for Culture at UNESCO from 2010 until 2018. During this time he coordinated several important conservation projects in Cairo, Jerusalem, Angkor, Axum and Afghanistan, among many others, and encouraged refection on urban conservation issues that led to the adoption of the UNESCO Recommendation on the Historic Urban Landscape in 2011.

Hanif Kara
Hanif Kara is a practicing structural engineer and Professor in Practice of Architectural Technology at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design. He is co-founder of AKT II London, where his design-led approach and interest in innovative forms, sustainable construction and complex analysis methods have allowed him to work on many pioneering projects. Under his design leadership, the practice has won over 300 design awards including the RIBA Stirling Prize for Peckham Library in 2000, and for Sainsbury Laboratory in 2012, as well as the RIBA Lubetkin Prize for the UK Pavilion at the Shanghai Expo 2010.

Marina Tabassum
Principal of MTA (Marina Tabassum Architects), founded in 2005 and based in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Ms. Tabassum is the academic director of the Bengal Institute for Architecture, Landscapes and Settlements. She was the Aga Khan Design Critic in Architecture at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design in Autumn 2017 and serves as a member of the Aga Khan Program Advisory Group. In 2016, Ms. Tabassum received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture for the Bait ur Rouf Mosque in Dhaka. Another project, the Pavilion Apartment, was shortlisted for the Award in 2004. Also in 2004, she received the Architect of the Year Award (AYA) from India for the NEK10 project in Dhaka. She is a recipient of 2005 Ananya Shirshwa Dash award, which recognizes women in Bangladesh for their exceptional achievements.

Azim Nanji
Special Advisor to the Provost at the Aga Khan University, and a member of the Board of Directors of the Global Centre for Pluralism in Ottawa, a joint partnership between His Highness the Aga Khan and the Government of Canada. Within the Aga Khan Development Network, Professor Nanji serves as a member of the Academic and Student Affairs Committee of the AKU Board of Trustees and the Academic Advisory Committee for the Institute for the Study of Muslim Civilizations (AKU-ISMC), and as member of the Madrasa-based Early Childhood Education Programme in East Africa. He was recently appointed to the first Steering Committee of the Aga Khan Music Awards.

Nasser Rabbat
Aga Khan Professor and the Director of the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture at MIT. A historian and architect, his research interests include the history and historiography of Islamic architecture, urbanism, and cultures, Mamluk history, modern Arab history, contemporary Arab art, and post-colonial criticism. Professor Rabbat has published several books and numerous scholarly articles. His most recent books are The Destruction of Cultural Heritage: From Napoléon to ISIS (2016), co-edited with Pamela Karimi, and Al- Naqd Iltizaman: Nazarat f-l Tarikh wal ‘Ururba wal Thawra (Criticism as Commitment: Viewpoints on History, Arabism, and Revolution) (2015). He is currently completing an intellectual biography of the 15th century historian al-Maqrizi and a book on the “Dead Cities”, a unique and threatened late-antique site in Syria.